Athlete of the Month, February 2015

kylie aom.jpg

Name, age, occupation, city? Kylie, 36, 3rd Grade Teacher, Rochester

Start date at CrossFit Reviver? January 2013.

Athletic background? Does running Track and Cross Country in High School count?

Favorite and least favorite WOD / movement? Apparently rowing needs to be my least favorite, but I’m pretty sure the AirDyne is the Devil. I like anything that does not require me to lift weights with a bar… Wall Balls, Ring Rows, HSPU, Russian Twists, Boat Pose, Pull Ups, etc.

Greatest accomplishment? Personal, professional and fitness related? Personal: Having a fabulous husband and three beautiful daughters. Professional: Knowing I’ve helped kids in three different states become better readers and writers for 13 years. Fitness: Being able to lift more and use less modifications the longer I’ve been a CFR members.

Has CFR made you better? If so, how? Yes…or I wouldn’t still be a member. I actually enjoy working out now. I don’t make excuses not to go to the gym or wander around the gym then leave. Vince and J and CFR members are the best! They are motivating and fun! I have also learned how to eat healthier and have eaten more vegetables in the last two years than I had in my entire lifetime.

What are your hobbies? Hmm..perhaps I’ll have time for a hobby when my girls are older. They keep me pretty busy.

Top 5 favorite TV movies? That’s like asking me to name my top 5 favorite books. I can’t do either.  There are too many to name, and I don’t like to pick favorites.

What is one thing we don’t know about you? One thing you don’t know about me that I can actually tell you…I have been sky diving.

What are your goals in life? Personal, professional and fitness related? Personal: To take a beach vacation with my husband sooner rather than later. Professional: To be more patient all day every day. Fitness: To master Double Unders and Pull Ups with no band.