Athlete of the Month, October 2016


Names: Kyle and Brittney Durant

Ages: both 29

Occupations: USMC (Kyle), Teacher (Brittney), and soon-to-be PARENTS!

City: Rochester Hills


When did you start at Crossfit Reviver? 08/01/2014

What is your athletic background? Club soccer in high school and triathlons in college

What is your favorite and least favorite WOD/movement? Favorite- Pull-ups Least Favorite- Burpees

What is your greatest accomplishment? Personal, professional, and fitness related: Personal- Being married for almost 7 years Professional- Being promoted to Captain Fitness- Completing and Ironman Triathlon

Has CFR made you better? If yes, how so? Yes, all my Olympic lifts are better and I am the strongest I have ever been.

What are your hobbies? Crossfit, Netflix, and shooting.

What are your Top 5 favorite movies? Shawshank Redemption, Inception, Just Go With It, End of Watch, and Blackhawk Down

What is one thing we don’t know about you? That I want to move to Texas after I retire

What are your goals in life? Personal, professional, and fitness related: Personal- Have a long lasting marriage and healthy children. Professional- Deploy to war Fitness- 1,000 lbs. club

Brittney – 

When did you start at Crossfit Reviver: 08/01/2014

What is your athletic background? I grew up playing soccer, volleyball, basketball, softball, and track, but come high school I stuck with volleyball and basketball as my two main sports. I came from a basketball family, so I played year round with my parents as my coaches. I also played 1 year of college basketball.

What is your favorite and least favorite WOD/movement? My favorite movements would have to be back and front squats, as well as cleans (which I am ready to start again once I have this baby!). Least favorite has to be burpees and, quite honestly, I am not one bit bummed that I have to modify them right now throughout this pregnancy.

What is your greatest accomplishment? Personal, professional, and fitness related: Personally, I would say marrying my best friend, Kyle, and preparing to start our family together. I am so blessed by him and never imagined I would have married a United States Marine, but this life of ours and moving every couple years has been something that I never could have envisioned for myself. We have lived in some wonderful places (Hawaii!) and have met some wonderful people (CFR peeps!). Professionally, I would say being able to find a job in some sort of teaching capacity wherever we move. Kyle and I had discussed that my professional career would take a hit if we chose for him to stay in the USMC. As much as I would love to have my own classroom (ideal grade would be 3rd, 4th or 5th), I have had the opportunity to be a substitute teacher, a full time sub for a year in a 1st grade classroom, and working at a before/after school care program. And my greatest fitness accomplishment would probably have to have been completing MURPH (2015)…can’t wait till my modifications become less and less throughout the years to come!

Has CFR made you better? If yes, how so? Yes! In high school, my sister and I had a zero period that was weightlifting. We were the only females and the rest of the class was basically the football team and the teacher was the football coach. We were “taught” how to do some lifts (back squats, deadlifts, cleans, press, push press), but I never felt comfortable doing them. But since joining CFR, I can say that I am so much more confident when it comes to olympic lifts because Vince and J do such a good job at explaining and training us to do them correctly. Along with the coaching, I love the atmosphere and people who are a part of the CFR family that make going to the “gym” so much more enjoyable.

What are your hobbies? Is hanging out with my dog, Teddy, a hobby? If so, then he is a hobby of mine. I love to read and I will read anything from Harry Potter to Girl on the Train to Game of Thrones to Redeeming Love. Scrapbooking, but not traditional scrapbooking. It’s called Project Life. Look it up! I used to use physical photos/pretty cards, but now I am using the app to get our photos/memories into albums. If you can’t tell, I am passionate about pictures and memories and preserving them in albums. DISNEY! I ask Kyle, “When can we go to Disney?”, AT LEAST 2-3 times a month. He just shakes his head at me. Disney is SO magical and I pray we get stationed in San Diego one day so we can get an annual pass. And my all time favorite hobby is probably having a lazy day just sitting on the couch with Kyle and watching Netflix…we’ll see how many of those days we get after baby girl comes!

What are you Top 5 favorite movies? I’m gonna be a rebel and put movies AND shows. Movies: Just Go With It (This Adam Sandler/Jennifer Aniston movie is always on the table for Kyle and I when we are deciding what to watch), Love Actually, Harry Potter Series, and any Disney movie. TV Shows: Dexter and How I Met Your Mother

What is one thing we don’t know about you? Two things about my parents: My dad was my high school social studies teacher (freshman and sophomore year) and I was his TA (junior and senior year) because he’s awesome and really was the “cool” teacher. He was also my head varsity basketball coach and my mom was his assistant. My sophomore year I was a starter with my sister (who was a senior) and my parents led us to the State Championships where we won 4th. Even though we didn’t win 1st, that is one of my most favorite and cherished moments with my family.

What are your goals in life? Personal, professional, and fitness related: My personal goals in life are to keep growing in my faith and relationship with the Lord, be the best wife, mom, and friend…someone people will remember for being loving, kind, generous, and serving. Professionally, I hope to bring my teaching skills into the home as I stay home with our future children. And one day I hope to either get back into the classroom when we finish having kids and they are all school-aged or I hope to work within the USMC in a civilian capacity, like a FRO (Family Readiness Officer). A FRO is hired as a part of a company and they deal with all the issues/concerns of the families of the service member. My fitness goals are to continue to get back into the shape I was in prior to getting pregnant, if not better! I want to continue to do CrossFit and lifting heavy!