Athlete of the Month, October 2015


Name, age, occupation, city? Shawn Stewart, 41, Product Development Team Leader, Auburn Hills

Start date at CrossFit Reviver? April 2014

Athletic background? Does Pee Wee Baseball, the week I practiced for JV football, or practice squad/stat taker for the basketball team count? No….well never really played any organized sports in school (I did ride the shit out of a bike and a skateboard until I had a driver’s license though). Other than that it was typical weight lifting gyms for about twenty years…and then I had this crazy thought of trying something new called “CrossFit”! WTF was I thinking!…(smartest thing I’ve done in a long time!)

Favorite and least favorite WOD / movement? Favorite: Deadlifts and Cleans, we get along…been getting along with Burpees lately too, crazy stuff for sure! Least Favorite: Snatches/Over Head Squats, ugh, the ever elusive shoulder mobility, they just don’t want to cooperate with me.

Greatest accomplishment? Personal, professional and fitness related? Personal: Moving from Michigan to a different state to work in another country every day, for almost 15yrs., where I did not speak the language nor did they speak mine, but became bi-lingual in a little less than 3yrs. (just know I’m there for any Spanish speaking needs). Professional: Some of that stuff above applies here also. As well as this year is my 20th year with the company I work for, I’ve gotten to walk through some opportune doors and been to see some interesting places all over the world…can’t wait to see what the next 25yrs. has in store. Fitness: Deciding to drink the “Kool-Aid” that is CrossFit and started at CrossFit ReviveR, in all seriousness best fitness decision I’ve ever made period!

Has CFR made you better? If so, how? Umm…f’yeah! CFR has made me into an athlete as opposed to someone just going through the motions at a regular weightlifting gym. I went from someone that was afraid to squat, any kind of squat, to back squatting 300+ lbs, could not run 1 mile in under 9 mins., without stopping at least once, to running 4K in 18 mins., and completing this year’s Murph 10 mins. faster than last years. None of this would be possible without the outstanding coaching we receive and the great community we have!

What are your hobbies? Love all things automotive, also I’ve been known to get creative with a pallet or two…

Top 5 favorite movies? Tough one…Ski Patrol, a good John Hughes movie, Encino Man, Original Star Wars Trilogy, O’Brother Where Art Thou…I could go on and on, I like movies..

What is one thing we don’t know about you? I have a little sister who is 14yrs. younger than I am, she’s also half Taiwanese.

What are your goals in life?  Personal, professional and fitness related? Personal: Continue on the journey that is my life, stay positive, and positively affect all those I come in contact with. Professional: Some of that above stuff, also to continue to look for those doors of opportunity, you never know where they may lead you. Fitness: Progress, definitely keep fighting the aging process and fighting for those damn double under's without looking like I’ve been whipped for stealing food, keep talking to my shoulders so we can get those snatches/overhead squats someday and maybe, just maybe Murph.